Faith Like A Child.

I want to be as unafraid as a child. As fearless as a lion. As bold as a pack of wolves. I don’t want to be fazed about uncertainties, sickness, the future, that exam, or that circumstance.

I could name so many things in my life that would lead me to be anxious and afraid. I can tie myself down, become a pawn in the devil’s game, believe lies, and doze in darkness. I can do all these things and more simply because it’s the obvious thing to fall into. It’s the nature of what this world encourages us to do — become complacent and quite. Leading us to believe there is no hope for us yet, no one is on their way to rescue us, and that our situations are nothing but impossible.

I’m writing today to speak to something defacing a generation — something that is consuming people’s minds and stealing hope, stealing joy, and most of all — stealing peace.

Anxiety and fear.

These monsters will go to the ends of the earth to find and captivate you. To catch you in the dark and keep you there. They steal your joy. Push you down to low places. They draw you to believe the lies of the enemy. They prowl at night, hoping to find yet another soul to inhabit and call home. They can impair your faith, rid you of all your trust, and displace the promises spoken over your life.

Of all the things that fear and anxiety do, the one thing they can’t do, because of our authority in heaven, is rule and reign.

Because God is the one on the throne. He rules and reigns.

There’s power available for us as followers of Christ to take dominion over our thoughts and our minds to guard against anxiety and fear.

Consistently remind the enemy of the promises God has set before you. And by remind I mean:

S P E A K , S H O U T , S H O V E , & R E P E A T .

Say things out loud. Speak truth. Speak his unshakeable promises.

Shove them in the devil’s face. Until you believe what you’re saying.

Declare the opposite of what fear tries to speak over you.

I spent hours the other night writing truth after truth about what the bible says about not being afraid.

Do you realize just how many times we are told to not be afraid?

H U N D R E D S !

I noticed that almost every verse informing us not to be afraid, simultaneously tells us that God will never leave us nor forsake us:

“Be strong and courageous, for the Lord your God goes before you.

“Do not fear, for I am with you.

“Be strong and don’t be afraid. God is coming to your rescue!”

I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

“God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in time of need.”

“I will fear no evil for you are with me…”

Over and over the bible reminds us of the ever-present God we serve. We’re reminded in so many instances how much the Lord cares for us — how he longs to protect us and free us from our fears.

Fear loves to get us thinking we are in this for the long haul — alone — with absolutely no hope of reaching freedom.

But God says:

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified. Do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

J O S H U A  1 : 9

For the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go!

There are no exceptions. When we need him, he’s there. When we don’t (which we never really don’t need him), he’s there. When you are happy, he’s there to “exult over you with joy.” When you are sad, he is there to comfort you. When you are afraid, he is going to be there waiting to hear your cry for help. I don’t have to be afraid because “the Lord is within me.”

See?

How is it we can find the strength to not be afraid?

Because the Lord is “within us,” the Lord “goes before” us, the Lord is “ever-present,” and the Lord “will be with” us.

He’s never going to leave us.

These things and more are all things I’ve needed to get in my spirit every morning, every afternoon, every evening, every moment I can — Vigorously. As I feel prodding lies have escalated a ridiculous amount in my life this month. It’s been the hardest battle I think I have ever faced.

But, I have authority, through Jesus and his grace, to turn such a situation around. Because fear is not my portion.

Galatians 6 says beautifully:

“…and you will reap a harvest of blessing — if you don’t give up.”

Reminding yourself daily and speaking truth over your life is not easy. It requires a lot of effort. Repeating yourself over and over in one prayer takes persistence. But if my goal is to really believe something, I don’t want it to be easily removed from me. I’ve said one hundred times over in the last few days: “I thank you Lord for not giving us a spirit of fear, but of  P O W E R  and of  L O V E  and of a  S O U N D  M I N D.”

Over and over and over.

I thank you Lord for not giving me a spirit of fear.

I thank you Lord for not giving me a spirit of fear.

I thank you Lord for not giving me a spirit of fear.

The devil is working hard too, putting in effort (not nearly as much as we may have been led to believe), and expecting us to quit.

Therefore we can’t do what we are expected to do. We can’t grow weary.

Let the joy of the Lord be your strength.

When I am afraid I take full authority of my thoughts and assess what’s coming from where. I think: “What does the bible say about fear? What have I been getting in my spirit? What does God say to do when we are afraid? When we worry?”

Cast your cares on him.

That’s what it says.

So simple right?

What do you mean “cast your cares” Makayla?

Just make your requests known to him. Admit you need help. Ask for him to guide you. Call upon his name. Ask that his comforting hand would come and dwell where you are. That he would guard your heart and your mind.

Let him turn your fears into faith.

Your night into day.

Speak things into existence. Thank him for giving you peace before you even feel like you’ve received it. Even when you don’t feel it. Your words have so much more power than you might think they do.

I like to say “it is written” before I declare what the word says just as Jesus did when he was tempted in the desert.

I believe when I acknowledge the word of God in such a way it invokes that much more power. Because the devil knows the word of God. He knows it’s true. He knows. When I begin to believe it’s truth, I become a greater force to reckon with.

If it worked for Jesus, it should work for me right?

The supplemental peace that this world has to offer will never outlast the perfect peace that the Lord supplies.

My cat can comfort me for approximately 5 minutes before he’s had enough. My friends have busy lives and may not always be readily available. I can listen to Taya Smith sing “Prince of Peace” a million times. I can distract myself with dozens of episodes of a television show late into the night. I can try and pass time under my own strength.

Or I can look to someone who has all the time in the world for me. Wants to share his heart and thoughts with me. Shower me in perfect peace when I need it. Take and bear the heaviness I feel. And fight battles he knows I can’t on my own.

When all else in this world fails, I know that I can count on my heavenly father to come quickly to my rescue. Faster than any mother, brother, sister, or friend.

It takes faith. It may seem like a lot, but it takes just a little.

In Matthew 17 it says:

“If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.”

When faced with difficulties, whether that be fear or otherwise, remember:

“Our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.”

E P H E S I A N S  6 : 1 2

I believe we are at the peak of a battle against the powers of darkness. Yet, the outcome has already been decided. Jesus says “it is finished.” We have already been set free from the sins we may commit tomorrow and we have already been set free from the bondage of fear and the powers of darkness. Whatever we may face, it has already been taken care of in the eyes of God. “A thousand may fall at your side, ten thousand at your right hand, but it will not come near you… for He will command his angels concerning you, to guard you in all your ways.”

We’re no longer slaves to fear, but children of God.

When the devil comes and tries to pervert your purpose, tell you you don’t belong or that you have no place, that there is no life for you to live outside of fear, remember this:

“But you are the ones chosen by God, chosen for the high calling of priestly work, chosen to be a holy people, God’s instruments to do his work and speak out for him, to tell others of the night-and-day difference he made for you—from nothing to something, from rejected to accepted.”

I  P E T E R  2 : 9

Don’t be afraid.

Be led forth in peace.

Makayla

Leave a Reply

