Marked For Life.

Yesterday was a pretty neat day.

I got inked, or rather marked, by not only ink, but my father in heaven.

I’ve thought of getting a minimal floral tattoo on my forearm for quite some time. But I never thought I would be getting it as my first.

As I researched what kind of flora I was going to get placed on my forearm, I came across an illustration of an olive branch.

I researched further and found out that farmers would never plant them in times of war because they are known to take a very long time to grow. Olive trees were only planted in times of peace when there was ample time to grow.

This seemed like a beautiful representation of who I feel I am: a newly planted olive branch, just coming out of a time of war.

In a season of perpetual growth.

Living from a state of victory.

I researched even further and concluded it would be a three-fold marking placed on my right arm to symbol God’s righteous right hand that holds me. An olive branch which symbolizes: the peace He has restored and supply’s. And God’s promise that deep waters will recede.

Of all the meanings behind my new tattoo, this life verse of mine sums up pretty darn well the essence of it:

“But I am like an olive tree flourishing in the house of God; I trust in God’s unfailing love for ever and ever. I will praise you forever for what you have done; in your name I will hope, for your name is good…”

P S A L M 5 2 : 8 – 9

All I can do is trust the Lord and be at peace that He is in control. And that His grace follows me wherever I go. And that He is good. All the time.

As I plan my next tattoo, I’m sure the Lord already has new growth and opportunities for me up his sleeve (all puns intended).

Makayla

 

Leave a Reply

