Love is a Person.

This morning I woke up to bitterness at my side.

One of the worst things to be greeted with in the morning.

Bitterness is so ugly.

I scrolled through my social media feeds and saw post after post after post of couples. People expressing their love for their significant others.

Photo after photo after photo.

UGH.

I was frustrated beyond measure. Which made me even more bitter.

But then I asked myself, and excuse my language, “Makayla, what the hell are you doing?”

Why was I being such a downer?

So, upon realizing how stupid I was being, I sat up, turned worship music on as loud as it could go, and started praising and thanking the Lord for his love. For his love that is jealous for me. Chases me. Chooses me. Embraces me. In all seasons.

And most importantly, I thanked him for being my first love. For teaching me what it looks like to be pursued and found.

I made a choice.

That bitterness was not going to make a home in me today.

No thank you.

Why was I bitter though?

Was I jealous of peoples non-singleness? Pretty much. Was I upset I was single? Yeah.

Why couldn’t I just be happy for others love?

Not a lot of people get the opportunity to enter into singleness at the time they’re certain they weren’t gonna be again.

So, being in another season of singleness myself has been a privilege.

God honors a pursuit to soak in wisdom, rest in his promises, and prepare for the future. He honors you giving up a season of your life to pursue HIM. I’ve learned more in this season than any other about myself, my desires, the best God has for me, and the purpose God has behind waiting. It’s not a punishment. It’s not there to constrain you. It’s there to prepare you.

Before now, I took my singleness for granted and never really understood why God would keep something so good from me. Why would he not want me to find love?

Because he wanted me to find HIM near completely before I found someone else.

Because he is love.

If I don’t know who love is, how would I be able to find it?

Before now I felt like I needed another person. I thought people got married because “man need not be alone” and that once I got married I would be complete.

This is true. God didn’t want man to be left alone.

But…

God doesn’t bring our future spouses into our lives to complete us, but to compliment us. For us to be chosen by them. So they can be a testimony of God’s goodness and his faithfulness. To be strongly made one for him. Because two is better than one. If either of them falls down, one can help the other up.

Love isn’t just a feeling, it’s a person.

It’s servanthood.

Love goes and love gives.

“For God so loved the world that he GAVE.”

Culture says being single is a status. It’s a label. It’s a stereotype you don’t want to be.

But singleness is only for a season. God says there is “a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance… a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing…”

Singleness is a blessing.

It’s a time where God is actively preparing you for the enjoyment of marriage. Shaping you into a complete being. Not preparing you to be made complete through marriage.

It’s a time where you get the privilege to make God the very center of your life. Which will be reflected just the same when you enter a relationship. He should always remains the center of every area of our lives, especially marriage.

Resting and trusting God in uncertainties is hard. Being patient is hard too. Believe me.

But singleness does not define you.

As you continue to fall hopelessly in love with love himself, you’ll soon realize, falling in love on earth isn’t for your benefit, but his.

So I will boast with those who are spreading so much love today. Because love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Because love never fails.

Because God is love.

And the world needs more love.

Makayla Marie

 

 

Leave a Reply

